Arkansas.gov

College Readiness

PURPOSE WORK GROUP UPCOMING MEETINGS RESOURCES

Purpose

In fall 2014, 41.4% of Arkansas students enrolled in at least one remedial course because those students had not successfully prepared for college-level courses in English, math, sciences or other subjects. This gap between high school graduation and college readiness can be improved through strategies for earlier identification when those students begin to fall behind and collaborative efforts between high schools and colleges and universities to intervene when students do fall behind.

Master Plan Goals Relevant to College Readiness:

GOAL 1: Raise completion and graduation rates for colleges and universities by 10%.


Work Group

The represententatives below will be responsible for planning and presenting implementation strategies for the College Readiness section of the master plan. If you have ideas or information to contribute, feel free to contact one of the members below.

Representative Institution Email
Barbara Jones, Chair South Arkansas College brjones@southark.edu
Steve Adkinson Henderson State University sadkinson@hsu.edu
Gina Hogue Arkansas State University Jonesboro ghogue@astate.edu
Mary Brentley University of Arkansas Pine Bluff brentleym@uapb.edu
Chris Smith Philander Smith College csmith@philander.edu
Zachary Perrine Pulaski Technical College zperrine@pulaskitech.edu
Diana Arn University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton arn@uaccm.edu
Robert Gunnels Southern Arkansas University Tech rgunnels@sautech.edu
Zulma Toro Universlty of Arkansas at Little Rock zrtoro@ualr.edu
Susan Harriman Arkansas Department of Education susan.harriman@arkansas.gov
Sonja Wright-McMurray Arkansas Department of Career Education SonjaMcMurray@arkansas.gov
Ann Clemmer Arkansas Department of Higher Education Ann.Clemmer@adhe.edu

Meetings and Resources

Upcoming Meetings

Notes From Past Meetings

September 17
November 23
December 16
January 15

Other Resources

2015 Prep Academy Handout - Steve Adkinson
A Multidimenional Perspective of College Readiness - Steve Adkinson
A-State K-20 Report for Fall 2015 - GIna Hogue
At Hamilton College, Top Administrators were Themselves First-Generation Students - Steve Adkinson
At Illinois College, a Fellowship Helps Students Succeed - Steve Adkinson
Best Practice Area - Statewide Articulation of a Core Curriculum - Susan Harriman
Best Practice Area - Recruit and Retain Students from Arkansas High Schools - Susan Harriman
Best Practice Career Education - Susan Harriman
College Preperation for All - Barbara Jones
Best Practices and Successful Programs for ADHE - Mary Brentley
Beyond Academics: A Holistic Framework for Enhancing Education and Workplace Success - Steve Adkinson
Bringing Equity and Quality Learning Together-AAC&U Report - Steve Adkison
Broadening the Definition - Steve Adkison
Campus Child Care Is Disappearing - The Chronicle of Higher Education - Steve Adkison
Catching Up to College and Career Readiness in Arkansas - Steve Adkison
College and Career Readiness Legislation - Dr Barbara Jones
College Preparation for All - Dr Barbara Jones
High-School Diploma Options Multiply, but May Not Set Up Students for College Success - Steve Adkinson
Initiative Alignment Final 2015 - Dr. Barbara Jones
KY Gear UP Data - Dr Barbara Jones
Let's Help First Generations Students Succeed -  Steven Adkison
Mentors Matter - Steven Adkison
More Than A Test Score - Dr Barbara Jones
Policy Meets Pathways - Steven Adkison
Program Helps Students Navigate the Unfamiliar Terrain of College - Steven Adkinson
Relevant College Readiness Initiatives of ACC - Dr Barbara Jones
Remedial Educators Warn of Misconceptions Fueling a Reform Movement - Steven Adkinson
Rethinking Open Access - Steven Adkinson
Singing the First-Generation Blues - Steven Adkinson
Student Mentors Keep High-Schoolers Engaged Through College - Steven Adkinson
The Challenge of the First-Generation Student - Steven Adkison
The Condition of College & Career Readiness 2014: African American Students - Steven Adkison
To Get More College-Ready Students, Drop the GED - Steven Adkinson
UALR Student Affairs Success Initiatives - Zulma Toro
Upward Bound Overview - Dr. Barbara Jones

 

Arkansas.gov