AHECB recommends approval of doctor of nursing programs, bond issues 



Brandi Hinkle, Communications Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Higher Education

AHECB recommends approval of doctor of nursing programs, bond issues

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved two new doctor of nursing practice degree programs, one at University of Central Arkansas in Conway and the other at University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

The practice-focused doctoral programs will provide graduates with innovative and evidence-based experience, preparing students to inform health care policy and implement patient care programs, officials said.

Reports from ADHE staff indicated a decrease in enrollment for Fall 2012 by 1.3 percent; however, a five-year comparison showed growth of 12.4 percent. Total enrollment for Fall 2012 was 174,589, including undergraduate and graduate-level students at all public and private institutions.

Anytime remediation rates, for students who have been out of high school for any length of time, in all subjects – math, English and reading – fell from last year’s 49.4 percent to 47.8 percent in Fall 2012. One-year remediation rates, or for those who graduated high school the previous spring, fell from last year’s 40.5 to 40.

In other business, the board approved the following new academic programs:
• Master of Science in Business Administration at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville
• Associate of Applied Science in Cardiovascular Technology at Arkansas Tech University – Ozark Campus
• Bachelor of Science in Emergency Medical Sciences at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock

The board also approved 68 new degree certifications from 17 colleges and universities through its Institutional Certification Advisory Committee, which evaluates and monitors degree programs offered to Arkansans by out-of-state institutions. A number of other programs with requested changes or deletions were also approved. A complete list is available at www.adhe.edu.

The board also approved the following bond issues:
• $7.25 million for Southern Arkansas University  for 30 years at a rate not to exceed 5.0 percent for several projects, including renovation of gymnasium, construction and renovation of housing facilities
• $1 million for Southern Arkansas University-Tech for renovations and addition to the multi-purpose student facility

New officers were selected for the year, with Dr. Charles Allen of Little Rock to serve as chairman, Kaneaster Hodges of Newport as vice chairman and Sarah Argue of Little Rock as secretary.

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education is responsible for carrying out the policy directives of the AHECB, approving and reviewing college and university academic programs and developing funding recommendations for the state’s 11 public universities and 22 public two-year colleges as well as several other post-secondary entities.

In addition, the agency is responsible for distributing approximately $170 million annually from state revenues and lottery funds intended to ease the financial burden of students seeking an education beyond high school. For more information, visit www.adhe.edu.