Arkansas.gov

Affordability

PURPOSE WORK GROUP UPCOMING MEETINGS RESOURCES

Purpose

Affordability is an important consideration in the ability of students to enroll and complete higher education. With a lack of additional state appropriations in recent years, tuition and fees have risen by an average of 25% for four-year institutions and 32% for two-year institutions from fall 2009 to fall 2014 (ADHE, 2015), negatively impacting affordability. Affordability can be improved through multiple strategies including reduced time to degree, providing grant funding based on students’ financial need, and re-examining institutional spending with a goal of maximizing efficiency and effectiveness of each dollar spent.

Master Plan Goals Relevant to Affordability:

GOAL 4: Improve College Affordability through Effective Resource Allocation


Work Group

The represententatives below will be responsible for planning and presenting implementation strategies for the Affordability section of the master plan. If you have ideas or information to contribute, feel free to contact one of the members below.

Representative Institution Email
Julie Bates, Chair Arkansas State University System Administration jbates@asusystem.edu
Russ Hannah Arkansas State University Jonesboro rhannah@astate.edu
Bobby Jones Henderson State University jonesb@hsu.edu
Tom Courtway University of Central Arkansas tcourtway@uca.edu
Suzanne McCray University of Arkansas Fayetteville smccray@uark.edu
Callie Dunavin Arkansas State University Mid-South cdunavin@midsouthcc.edu
Richard Dawe Ozarka College rdawe@ozarka.edu
Lisa Willenberg University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton gunderman@uaccm.edu
David See College of the Ouachitas dsee@coto.edu
Tara Smith Arkansas Department of Higher Education tara.smith@adhe.edu

Meetings and Resources

Upcoming Meetings

Notes From Past Meetings

September 30
November 23
December 14
January 21
February 5

Other Resources

Affordability Documents

Financial Aid Information
     Higher Education Grants Fund Summary
     ACS Awards Summary
     HEG Fund Revenues 2006-15
     HEG Fund Expenses 2006-15

Financial Aid Articles
     Scott Walker Announces GOP College Affordability Initiative
     Top 10 Higher Education State Policy Issues for 2016
     Dem Gaz - Cut Student Debt

Arkansas.gov