Arkansas.gov

Adult Learners

PURPOSE WORK GROUP UPCOMING MEETINGS RESOURCES

Purpose

According to the Lumnia Foundation's 2015 annual report, A Stronger Nation through Higher Education, Arkansas is home to over 500,000 adults, or almost 35% of the population, who are high school graduates but have completed no college hours. Another 350,000 have some college credits but no degree. Based on these statistics, it is clear that a significant change in higher education attainment levels in the state can only be achieved through a concentrated effort to encourage adults to return to college, or enroll for the first time.

Master Plan Goals Relevant to Adult Learners:

GOAL 2: Increase by 50% the enrollment of adults, age 25 to 54 by fall 2018.


Work Group

The represententatives below will be responsible for planning and presenting implementation strategies for the Adult Learners section of the master plan. If you have ideas or information to contribute, feel free to contact one of the members below.

Representative Institution Email
Michael Moore, Chair University of Arkansas System Adminstration mmoore@uasys.edu
Marie Parker Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas mparker@cccua.edu
Karen Liebhaber Black River Technical College KarenL@blackrivertech.edu
Rhonda Carroll Pulaski Technical College RCarroll@ptc.edu
Jeremy Reece Arkansas State University Mid-South jreece@midsouthcc.edu
Jaqueline Faulkner Arkansas State University Newport jaqueline_faulkner@asun.edu
Javier Reyes University of Arkansas Fayetteville reyes@uark.edu
Hazel Linton University of Arkansas Pine Bluff lintonh@uapb.edu
Tracy Finch Arkansas State University Jonesboro tfinch@astate.edu
Ann Clemmer Arkansas Department of Higher Education Ann.Clemmer@adhe.edu

Meetings and Resources

Upcoming Meetings

Notes From Past Meetings

October 7

Other Resources

No Other Resources Available at this Time

Arkansas.gov